The parish of Kilsherdany and Drung is a Catholic parish in the diocese of Kilmore. It is a large rural parish with beautiful drumlin hills and the picturesque Annalee River flowing through it. The parish is tucked-in between Cavan town and Cootehill. It includes the four church areas, Kill, Corick, Drung and Bunnoe. Kilsherdany and Drung were originally two separate parishes and they were united in 1969. The parish is bisected by the Cavan/Cootehill road and the villages of Drung and Tullyvin are in the parish.
St Patrick’s, Corick
The present Church was built in 1863 by the then parish priest Very Rev. Patrick Smith and the architects were Messers Hague. The building was constructed and the seats made by the McGennis Family, Tullyvin.
Church Of Immaculate Conception, Drung
In 1769 a chapel was erected at Drumauna which could hold 600 people. The present church was built in 1951 when James Brady was parish priest and it was rededicated on 16th September of that year. The golden jubilee was marked with special celebrations in 2001.
St Mary’s, Bunnoe
There was a long clay cabin, known as Bunnoe chapel built in 1780 in the townland of Lisboduff. The present church was being built in 1839 when it was damaged by the ‘Big Wind’. It was completed in 1843.
St. Brigid’s, Kill
St Brigid’s Church was built in the year 1826 in the townland of Drumhurt when Fr Felix McCabe was parish priest. Extensive renovations were carried out on the church in the 1970s when Fr John Quinn was curate. The church was rededicated on 9 June 1977.